Google Drive Data Retention Upon Departure from SU

Tags Google Drive

As mentioned in the SU IT Policy, upon departure from the University (graduation, resignation, etc.), all user data from Google Workplace for Education apps (Drive, Docs, Sheets, etc.) will be subject to deletion after a specified amount of time. This specific amount of time will be communicated to the user upon their departure.

For Alumni (Those who graduated from a degree-granting and/or certificate program):

As of the publishing of this article, as an Alum you will still have access to your SU email account without interruption after graduation. However, you will be issued a 1GB storage cap on your Google Drive which will prohibit you from adding additional files or editing existing files. You will then have 90 days from the date of graduation to download and backup any Google Drive and Photos data you wish to keep. After 90 days your Drive and Photos will be deleted, being made inaccessible and unrecoverable.

To download your SU Google account data, please use Google’s Takeout: Download tool.

For a brief tutorial on how Takeout: Download works, please check out this video - Download with Google Takeout. For additional information on Takeout: Download, please visit How to Download Your Google Data.

 

For Non-Grads (Those who did not complete a degree-granting and/or certificate program and are no longer actively enrolled at SU):

 

SU Google accounts will be deactivated and all Google Drive and Photos data will be deleted within 30 days after you are determined to have withdrawn from the University. Account deactivation also eliminates access to your SU email. Deleted data cannot be accessed or recovered. If/when you return to SU, you will be given a new SU Google account (email address, Drive, etc.).

Print Article

Details

Article ID: 157045
Created
Mon 7/17/23 11:19 AM
Modified
Wed 7/26/23 9:47 AM